ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Roadster and Coupe > General BMW Z4 Forum
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

05-01-2012, 08:27 AM   #1
Amylovebus
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2005 BMW Z4 3.0 Alpine White

HELLLP!!! BMW chug-a-lugg!

Hi all!

I sure hope someone can shed some light on an issue.

Yesterday, drove the Z to work (as I do most days), ran errands at lunch, stopped at the P.O. on the way home - ran in, ran out... no problems.
This morning, I hop in and take off. I get a few block from the house and
she starts beeping, the brake light comes on and something that has a little triangle (?) and says EML and she's chug-a-lugging like this is my first time to drive a stick. Mind you, the emergency brake was not up at all and the car was making a clunking sort of noise. I slowed and changed gears, still the same. I made a u-turn and prayed I'd make it back to my garage! I got home OK and as I was coming up my alley, the chugging had basically quit and I was able to get up to a decent speed. I turned her off, sat a moment, turned her back on - no warning lights and she sounded fine. I backed out of the garage - still fine. I pulled back into the garage and left her as I was afraid to make matters worse or to get stranded somewhere.

Has this happened to anyone? My car is an 05 with about 38k miles. IMO, things like this should not be happening. I plan to tell the hubby this evening but I know he's not going to be happy. We didn't buy this car to pour a bunch of money into it. I'm afraid he's going to want me to get rid of it.

Any suggestions?? Thanks in advance for your help!!
      05-01-2012, 12:12 PM   #2
EenyBear
Accidentally in BMW
Canada
Rep
Drives: Z4MC & R1200S

Hi Amy!

By the way, great post. Lot's of detail and clues.