BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

08-28-2010, 12:16 PM   #1
TMR013
Opus Angelus
Rep
Drives: 2018 LBB M2

Here we go again - Another Step vs. Manual Thread

So I took the 1er out to Tortilla Flats this morning so I could really test out my new Hankook V12’s (see the tire section to read that review). I decided I wasn’t going to play with the paddles and just let the Step do its thing in DS mode. My opinion, and I know it won’t sway any die-hards, the right automatic is absolutely just as much fun as a manual.
A little history. The 1 is the first car I have ever owned with an auto. And I have been driving for over 20 years. I even special ordered my utility vehicle, an Isuzu Trooper, with a 5M many years ago. And my last car was an S2000, which has IMO the sweetest 6M on the road today. I was more than a little apprehensive when I got the 1, but I simply did not want to wait to special order the car. And I’ll be honest, I couldn’t be happier with this choice.