BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

05-29-2009, 02:06 PM   #1
kb2dhg
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2009 128i

Question how dificult is it to figure out how to use this car?

OK, I am still waiting for my 128and while waiting I am brousing the on line owners manule...
I am not too good at these computer based things and am getting a bit worried that this car has way too much computer baised bells and whistles. It seems like an awfull lot to do to check the oil and go through all these menues just to operate this car.
I am getting over welmed and was wondering just how hard it is getting used to using and navagating the controls of this car?
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2009, 02:46 PM   #2
vividracing
United_States
Rep
Drives: E90 M3, F30 335i, F80 M3

Did you order nav?

Also, how old are you?
This isn't anything negative - but will provide a realistic gauge at how comfortable you are with computer based controls.
PM, Email, or Call Directly for aggressive BMW Member Pricing
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2009, 02:56 PM   #3
ptack
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 135i

Garage List
2008 135i  [6.50]
Unless you have the I-drive, it's only as involving as you want it to be. I don't have the I-drive and for the most part there are only small number of controls I use on a regular basis. Everything else stays in the default mode. Lights, wipers, climate control, setting radio pre-sets and using an i-pod. That's about all I use.
      05-29-2009, 03:05 PM   #4
Lester
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives:

Your delivery specialst should spend an hour or so with you going over all the controls. You have the advantage of reading the manual and a lot of posts on this forum before going in.

My last BMW was a 1983 320i - with no computer controls at all, and I didn't find it overwhelming to step into a 135i. I also didn't get a lot of control options, just PDC.