BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

10-23-2008, 05:11 AM   #1
cuizhuoyi01
EVO
Rep
Drives:

what is the safest or best way to put a spacer?

what is the best way to do the spacer??

HR spacer + longer wheel lug bolt?

HR spacer + TMS 75mm or 90mm wheel stud + wheel nut?

does tha dry lube stud better than the normal one?

which long wheel stud should be good for our car?

what is hubcentric ring? do i need this to ensure the safety?

I'm a noob about spacer. please give some suggestion. thanks!
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2008, 07:43 PM   #2
pkcormier
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 135i

Bolts or studs should provide the same fastening strength. Studs are just more convenient if your change wheels often. It is easier to slide a wheel on the studs than to try and line up the holes and insert the bolt. Just ensure that you have a minimum of 6 complete turns on either the bolt or nut. I don't know about the dry lube stud, I just use the plain jane variety. Get some lock-tight if you go with the studs. Your spacers must be hubcentric. Otherwise you will have some play between the hub and wheel and you will never get it mounted correctly. This will result in vibration since the wheel is not centered. You'll hop down the road. If you are getting spacers from Turner Motorsports they should be hubcentric since they specialize in bmw. Some 5mm spacers do not have enough material (not thick enough) to be hubcentric. I bought 5mm from Vorshlag and got a little vibration. Moved to 10mm Vorshlag and they are perfect.
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2008, 10:32 PM   #3
cuizhuoyi01
EVO
Rep
Drives:

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkcormier View Post