BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

06-25-2008, 11:40 AM   #1
DC135i
Private
Rep
Drives:

Optimal shifting points? At what RPM? Need help!

Hey guys,

I did a search for this topic, but I couldn't find anything, so I'm posting this question, as it's driving me batty:

For everyday driving, is there an optimal shifting point, in terms of RPM, for each gear? For example, should I shift up at 2500 RPM? I know I can just listen to the engine, but my concern is "over-doing it" or shifting wrong, and how that could negatively affect my car (engine, transmission, clutch, the works). I'm very new to high-performance engines, so I might be worrying for no reason, but that's why I posted this question, to get some opinions/facts/feedback, etc... I'm guessing that these cars can take it, so to speak....day in and day out driving semi-hard...perhaps I'm just still in a "baby my new toy" mindset, so I'm probably just being over cautious.

Also, what RPM should you start downshifting? If the RPMs go below 2k, should I downshift? What's recommended here?

I'm fairly new to the manual transmission (it's been 7+ years since I last drove stick!), and I just want to make sure I'm doing it right for my new 135i.

I appreciate any assistance!!
      06-25-2008, 01:01 PM   #2
KCRich
Rep
Drives:

I would imagine that any fuel efficiency benefits gained by shifting at a precise point would be negligible. The overall style of driving seems to be the overriding factor, whether the cars under hard acceleration or not. I wouldn't concern myself with finding an exact up or downshift point.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2008, 01:10 PM   #3
mistermojorizin
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 135i

what do you mean by "optimal for everyday driving"?

i mean i know what the shift is to achieve max acceleration - redline 1st and 2nd, 6800 in 3rd and 6400 in 4th and 5th.