BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications

EXXEL Distributions

09-17-2017, 09:21 PM   #1
TimberWolf_3063
Dem Ingenör ist nix zu schwör!
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2010 E92 M3 - DCT, EDC

Garage List
Grill Stripes - Part 2 *pictures fixed*

EDIT: Pictures are fixed!

So, after my disastrous experience with Bimmian grill stripes (http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1423078), I looked for alternatives.

Found these on Amazon:

(https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

and figured that 10" long and 2" wide stripes would be more than enough...I didn't just want the front of the slat, but the whole thing covered.

I thought I could wrap the tape all the way around so it would overlap in the back...forgetting that the slats are curved (more on that later).

Before I continue...I should mention that I am an engineer. And German. (Hence why I drive an M-Car, I know that Germans build them better. I know it in every fiber of my being. I know it like the Earth is round! )

I am as STUBBORN as it GETS.

So! First order of business, remove the grill! (Special thanks to BimmerM for his handy grill removal guide http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=531294, made it a lot easier!)

With the aforementioned guide (and a body/trim tool) - no problem!

Step 2: Remove the center grill portion (black) from the surrounding trim (chrome)

There are clips all around it, similar to removing the entire grill from the car.

Here's where the fun begins...as you'll remember - the slats are curved. THE SLATS ARE CURVED. THE GODDAMN SLATS ARE CURVED!!!

So, stubborn as I am, I'm not giving up! The slats are curved? I'LL give THEM a curve!