United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 M2C, 2019 330xi, 2017 Q7

Garage List
2019 330xi  [0.00]
2017 Audi Q7 3.0  [0.00]
2020 M2C  [0.00]
Contemplating F15

Hello all - Thinking of an X5 to replace the wife's ML, so new to X5 (but not to BMW, e46 and F10 owner). Looks like they finally made the X5 female friendly with the buttery light steering so I am trying to convince the wife to consider the X5. The choices really are between the ML, X5 and the Cayenne and I am leaning towards the Diesel for any of those. I am a BMW driver so my choice is naturally X5, but also because I feel it is the most advanced in terms of technology and reliability. I am currently driving an X5 loaner and am really enjoying it. I have some questions:

1) What are your thoughts on the Diesel? Is there any loss of driving feel or lack of smoothness of the petrol engine?

2) LED lights: How much better are these than the Xenons? I am leaning toward this but want to hear from those that have experienced both

3) I am confused about Drivers Assistance and DA +. While these few features are cool, I find them to be an annoyance. HUD is virtually useless and its bothersome to me at night. I am thinking of skipping these two options and just getting the backup and surround camera ala carte. Thoughts?

4) Third row seats. We are a family of four and would like to get this for the one off times we have guest visting us. Any disadvantages to the third row?

What else should I be thinking of?

Thanks folks!
Appreciate 0
      11-11-2015, 12:54 PM   #2
Shaw
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2016 X5 35d | 2019 X3 30i

Garage List
Welcome to the X5 club!
Please find below my thoughts in red...of course you will hear 180 degree different response from our friends here...so the bottom line is, you have to go with your instincts and what makes you and your wife happy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKutta View Post