E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Need some very quick advice

02-20-2014, 07:49 PM   #1
Agentphish
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: '08 328i

Need some very quick advice

Want to do do my trans and diff fluid tonight. I'm a noob with using a transfer pump. Wondering what I should do (if anything) to clean the fluid transfer pump between when I use it to pump trans fluid into the MT, and when I then pump out the old diff fluid and pump in new.

Should I just flush with water as the manual for the pump states and do the diff immediately because the amount of water left in there will be negligible? (I've always heard water in any fluid is bad)

Should I flush with water and attempt to dry it all out in some way? (not sure how I'd ever get the inside of the hoses dry)

Should I not worry about flushing it because trans drains itself, then I'm pumping IN new trans fluid. Then pumping OUT old Diff fluid (hopefully/effectively) flushing out any leftover trans fluid that's in there, then pumping IN new Diff fluid.

Thanks for any advice you can give.
      02-20-2014, 08:38 PM   #2
Hirschman
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 e90

Pumping out the diff fluid will effectively flush out ant remaining transmission fluid. Don't use water!
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 10:19 PM   #3
RemovedUser
Rep
n/a
Drives:

Do not use water, your better of with a little bit of mixed fluid then using water, especially in the diff which has a small capacity and no filter.

Go to the auto store and buy another transfer pump for $14.99. Pep boys has a nice one.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 10:52 PM   #4
Agentphish
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: '08 328i

Yeah I guess I could just grab another pump to be extra safe. Good point.