E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > USA - NY / NJ / CT / PA > Park Ave BMW charging about $380 for NH Fees??

09-07-2012, 11:35 PM   #1
WingZeroX5
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80 / F30

Park Ave BMW charging about $380 for NH Fees??

So I'm about to pick up a car at Park Ave BMW and on top of the price we've agreed on over the phone and submitting our deposit/down payment, the dealer mentioned the following:

$300 something dollar doc fee (which I know is standard, amount varies depending on the state you're in)

and another $380 something for registering and doing all the paperwork for me so that when i return to New Hampshire, all the registrations and stuff will be in my mailbox...they mentioned something called E-reg??

So, in short, is this legitimate? This is my first time buying a car in NJ and they said it's "law" of some sort. For the beater I just traded in for in Massachusetts, all I did was throw down my asking price + doc fee, and i was out the door with a temp plate from NH that I got the day before when we signed the papers... So I was just thinking of having Park Ave BMW issuing me a temp NJ paper plate and I drive it back and do all the registrations and title work on my own because NH does not allow out of state dealers to prepare title apps

I'm going to be super pissed if they charged me for it and turns out i had to do it all when I return to NH, that means i would pay twice!!

FYSA:
1) NH does not have sales tax
2) We could get raped in registration though, it's based on the base model MSRP of the vehicle
3) Then again...for $380, sounds about right for 2 year old 1 series with MSRP of $31.2
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2012, 11:53 PM   #2
Richurd
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: Too slow.