BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums General Automotive (non-BMW) Talk + Photos/Videos    What car is this?

02-19-2012, 12:09 PM   #1
MikeyV
Captain
Rep
Drives: Audi A6 Avant & A1 Sportback

What car is this?

Anybody know what this car is, I don't have a clue?

Appreciate 0
      02-19-2012, 07:43 PM   #2
MisterSkiMask
Banned
Rep
Drives: I Can not say

It looks like Bertone work to me, rhd, most likely British, I was thinking etype, but the dash isn't quite right (there were several variations of the the car and I am no expert), it may be smaller, like an mg...probably jag
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 06:42 AM   #3
MikeyV
Captain
Rep
Drives: Audi A6 Avant & A1 Sportback

Turns out this is the Ford Cougar II, it was almost produced as a competitor to the Vette Stingray, I think the Ford is far more attractive, could have been a good seller for them.

Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 08:43 AM   #4
ragingclue
One cam is enough
Rep
Drives: VF

Wow I wonder what the high speed lift was like in that thing....
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2012, 09:19 AM   #5
MisterSkiMask
Banned
Rep
Drives: I Can not say

From another site:
"In the 1963 Ford shown the third Cougar dream car, it was called Cougar II. This very handsome two-passenger GT sports car would have made a timely contender to the popular Corvette String Ray. (Ford explained that GT, or gran turismo, is a temi usually applied to two-seat coupes designed for super highways.) Cougar II featured a fastback roof, conceaied "pop-up" headiamps, and a serious, fully instrumented interior.

Powertrain was a high-performance 260 cu. in. V-8 engine that connected a four-speed transmission with a console-mounted gearshift lever. It was claimed that Cougar II was engineered to reach speeds in the 170 miles-an-hour range. When interior air pressure exceeded 15 pounds per square inch, a reliefpanel across th� rear of the passenger compartment opened automatically.