XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum

TireRack

Go Back   XBimmers.com | BMW X6 Forum X5 Forum > BMW X6 Forums > X6 Engine / Exhaust / Drivetrain Modification

02-02-2012, 04:19 PM   #1
MarioX6M
Colombia
Rep
Drives: X6M Lumma

New to M cars, would like some opinions.

Hey everyone, I'm new to the M cars, I placed an order for a 2012 X6M Monte Carlo Blue last week. Still waiting for delivery of course...

Anyways, I have done some research on what I can do to it to increase performance without of course doing some crazy stuff...

So far what I've thought of is;

Akrapovic Carbon Fiber Exhaust

I'm also interested in getting the ECU flashed for better performance, but I'm confused as to what I should go for...

ESS, Active Autowerke, etc... I've heard some "negative" stuff from Active Autowerke before but I'm not sure if it's true...

I also wanted to ask... How does the ESS work? Do you connect it to the car, and it will install a tune on it, and you're done? Does it require logs to make it better? Or pretty much plug, install, and go?

Please note that I do not have 93 octane fuel where I live... 91 is the best and I would rather not have to do any logs or "custom" tunes via E-Mail.

Thank you And nice to meet you all!
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2012, 10:44 AM   #2
BiG22DuBz
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: X5M

Renntech is in your neck of woods. They claim to have the fastest tune only x5/x6m. The ESS tune also seems to be very solid and you can load and unload it prior to going in to the dealership. I'd look into Eissenmann or RPI exhaust. Downpipes add the most power but will create interior resonance and voids warranty. (Tune voids warranty also)
CLS55 and C6Z06 (previous rides)
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2012, 12:05 PM   #3
scottjays
Starfleet Command
Rep
Drives: 2020 X5 M50i

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarioX6M View Post
Hey everyone, I'm new to the M cars, I placed an order for a 2012 X6M Monte Carlo Blue last week. Still waiting for delivery of course...