E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > New BMW M3 Owner - Acceleration Techniques / Other tips?

11-03-2011, 02:45 PM   #1
iw_miked
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2011 M3 Sedan (Jerez Black)

Lightbulb New BMW M3 Owner - Acceleration Techniques / Other tips?

Hey everyone!

I recently (early Sept) got myself a brand-spanking new Jerez Black 2011 M3 (Sedan), Comp. Pack, w/ DCT & DriveLogic. It's a hot car!

So, I'm new to the whole BMW Performance Car crowd and was wondering if I could get some tips/answers from you advanced drivers?

Best way to accelerate (using the Sequential mode)?
Sometimes, when I press about 50-60% on the gas, my acceleration is not smooth and starts to (not really stutter) but bounce? As if my foot is not steady enough on the gas pedal so it bounces back and forth. What are some techniques to help with this? Is it my foot? Or should I be slamming it all the way down each time? Or, maybe a better position for my foot? Like heel all the at the bottom of the pedal?

Brake Squeeking--already?
When coming to a light, ranging from 1mph - 10mph, and pressing about 30% on the brake, I noticed that my brakes will squeek. Not a high-pitch like other cars, more like a person whistling tone. Is this common? Should I get it looked at?

What DCT Program do most people use for normal driving? And for fun?
I have been switching between D mode 3 and D mode 1. D mode 1 I like cause it's really "chill" but lately I like D mode 3 cause I like the feel of the acceleration.
For the fun stuff, I have on my M-setting set to Sequential Mode 5. Haven't explored DSC off enough to set my M-setting to Mode 6 just yet. :P

The RPM LED Lights not working?