ZPOST
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   ZPOST > BMW Z4 Technical Talk > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
  TireRack

SUPPORT ZPOST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

10-06-2011, 01:58 PM   #1
3002 tii
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: Z4 M, X5, GX460

Garage List
Watkins Glen - HPDE level 1

First "dry" session after the non-stop rain and thick fog, DSC was kept on since there were some slick areas.

Last edited by 3002 tii; 10-06-2011 at 10:58 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2011, 03:25 PM   #2
JCz04Bimmer
Captain
Rep
Drives: 06 Z4MC

The Glen is one scary track when it's drying out! There are no less than 4 different kinds of surfaces and they all have different levels of grip when wet. Oh and they all dry at different rates. Very scary stuff.

Few random comments on what i'm seeing... (Hope you don't mind, I have a lot of experience up there...)

- You need to smooth out your braking and throttle application. Way too herky-jerky with the inputs. For braking, you pop on and pop off and back on. For throttle, you get on it too abruptly.
- At 5:37 & 8:24 you do a tick to the left then turn into the Bus Stop very abruptly. Dangerous move, man.
- Shifting as you run up the Esses is dicey. It's just like lifting. If anything, short shift before Turn 2.
- At 7:54, way too harsh of a turn-in. At 7:58, transitioning left way too early.
- Setting up for the Outer Loop, no need to track out all the way to the left after the Bus Stop.
- Your turn-in points are pretty good. Sometimes early, but good. Rather they be late, if anything.
- Your use of the entire track is solid.
- You can take the Fast Left a lot faster. Brush the brakes, turn in.
- Keep both hands on the wheel!! After the Toe you talk with your hands. Stop that!

Stupid Vette not lifting after the point-by at 9:16!
      10-06-2011, 04:40 PM   #3
3002 tii
Lieutenant General
Rep

Garage List
Quote: