Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

E90Post

The Tire Rack

PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Reset Red Flat Tire Warning

Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

08-02-2011, 08:39 AM   #1
dvanderl
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2006 325i (e90)

Exclamation Reset Red Flat Tire Warning

I am new to owning a BMW (about a year now) and I am not used to a car being so smart. When I put winter wheels on this last winter, I had the red flat tire warning go off and I couldn't ever get it to reset. The wheels came off of a 2005 BMW 3-series (e46) and the BMW dealership said that there is a possibility that the flat tire monitor in the wheels is not compatible with my e90. They said I could either live with the warning lamp all winter or pay to have compatible flat tire monitors installed for $800. I opted for the first choice.

When I put my summer wheels back on the flat tire warning stayed on and I couldn't reset it. I took it in for service and BMW found that I had a tire with a plug in it and the plug was drying out and leaking. BMW filled the tire and reset the warning indicator. It came on again and I took it to a tire shop. They found that there was another hole in the same tire so I had that tire replaced and they reset the warning again. Everything has been just fine since then (about two months).