E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Fun with N54 Cobb AccessPort - logs, timeslips, and review

02-18-2011, 11:16 PM   #1
boom
My X5d tows my spec miata to the track.
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2010 X5 35d

Thumbs up Fun with N54 Cobb AccessPort - logs, timeslips, and review

Intro:
I've been playing with cars now for about 4 years. I beta tested the cp-e Standback for the Mazdaspeed6 and n54, had a performance shop with four partners, tuned the first mazdaspeed3 to make over 400 whp, built several motors for that platform, and have installed every part on that car and the 3 series that exists. I will be the first to say that I am no expert. I have some experience but take the position that there is always something to learn from someone that knows a lot more than me. All that said, I'm not really interested in 20 psi + nitrous from a gt35 on this car. I'm a father of two with a busy job and want fast without complication or compromise – as do we all... lol.

I had a 335i that I bought new and used to beta test the Standback and get it salable. I documented over 260 WOT runs in that car on the dyno and the street in multiple gears. I've pulled that tune out of the ecu compartment at least a hundred times – I have 57 firmware versions on my laptop. I sold that car and thought I was done modding. Bought an Audi A3 and decided to calm down... Yeah, right. I sold the Audi after 4 months and jumped right back in to an 08 335. This time it's an Xi coupe auto – getting old I guess and snow sucks.

I decided on the AP based on COBB's history, the ability to install/uninstall without accessing the engine bay, the additional features that the AP offers, and, ultimately, the ability to tune with ATR. So, here we go...

Packaging: