E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Complete BMW novice and need help.

09-05-2010, 03:00 PM   #1
JohnnyT
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 4Runner. Former 09 328i.

Complete BMW novice and need help.

Hi all,

I am a complete BMW novice and I am considering my first BMW. I saw a 2007 328i with premium package as a CPO vehicle at a local BMW dealership that has only 18k miles for about $25k. Beautiful car. Drove it. Loved it. So whats the problem?? (I'm a low mileage per year guy - about 10k. Was considering purchase rather than lease).

I hear....
"Oh, BMW's cost a fortune to fix",
"Oh, those run flat tires are the worst",
"Oh, BMW cost of ownership overall is very high. Just get a Honda and life will be easier and less expensive".
"You won't be able to drive the car in the winter or rain".

etc., etc., etc.

I need the help of anyone who is willing to offer it. I'd love to get this car but these thoughts are going through my head.

What am I getting into with owning a BMW?? How does the deal above sound?

Thank you in advance for any insight, thoughts, or advise you can provide.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2010, 03:57 PM   #2
WWONG
Banned
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 BMW X5 xDrive35d

Sounds like most of your concerns are with money. If money is your concern, maybe BMW isn't the best brand to choose for a car...
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2010, 04:02 PM   #3
BMW Junkie
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: '11 335d, '03 325i

Garage List
2014 BMW X5 x35i  [0.00]
2003 325i  [0.00]
2011 335d  [0.00]
First off, some of what you've heard is ridiculous.

For example...can't drive a BMW in the rain?!?! Seriously? Like it doesn't rain in Germany!