E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > New & Preowned BMW Ordering / Pricing / Tracking Information Forum (including European Delivery) > Finance Issues

09-07-2005, 12:04 AM   #1
Atty
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 09 X5 48i M-Sport

Garage List
Finance Issues

I've read alot about purchase prices, leasing, residuals, etc. in the few days I've been on this board, and thought I should chime in.

When I'm not breaking laws limiting how fast one can drive, I'm a consumer finance attorney specializing in the federal/state fair lending laws; so here's my $.02 on buying and financing cars. You may already know many of these concepts, but I always think it's helpful to explain this to others:

When people talk about how much they paid for a car, do they include the little "add-ons" in the price?

Case in point#1: the salesman and I agreed on the price for the car. Then, when he wrote it up, he added on $145 for "doc prep". Arguably, this is a violation of federal and state fraud laws...I'm sure you've all heard of the concept of "bait and switch". You can make the argument that when you agree on the price of the car, that amount is all-inclusive, thus he just increased it on me.

My salesman practically cried, telling me it was "unfair" (his words, not mine) to dispute the fee, because everybody has to pay it. [So if everybody jumps off a cliff....] Frankly, I see a potential class-action claim against the dealer if he doesn't watch it.