E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > My total cost of ownership plan for my 335i

12-02-2006, 10:14 PM   #1
williamf
Audi Convert
United_States
Rep
Drives: Past: 335i Now: TTRS stage 2+

My total cost of ownership plan for my 335i

I leased my 335i with all the bells an whistles. Since I am a Realtor, I am considered self-employed for tax purposes. Thus, I can write off all lease payments, gas, and any modification to do to the car, as it is my primary work vehicle. So basically 1/3 of these costs are credited back to me in the form of a reduced federal income tax bill.

At the end of the lease, I intend to purchase the car and then immidiately sell the car. Since the dealer says that it will only be worth 61% of its purchase new value, I figure I can resell for at least 10K more. So, if I can sell it for say $38K (it was 50k new), then my total cost of ownership/lease for the car for 3 years will be appoximately $263 per month.

Any thoughts or comments on this plan. I spoke to my CPA about this plan, but I left out the last part about buying the car back. He said the rest was fine.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2006, 10:58 PM   #2
vinen
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 335i coupe

I'm in a similar situation.. My initial impression is $38K after 3 years of use is too high, mainly because you can almost buy a new 335i for approx 40K base. I doubt you will get dollar for dollar value for expensive options....
      12-02-2006, 11:13 PM   #3
urnuts
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: '06 330i (the now "slow" bmw)

Plan

I agree that your assumed selling price may be (is!) unrealistic.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2006, 11:28 PM   #4
335i=:)
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 335i sedan-blk/blk-Poplar

Plan on selling it for more like 32k.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2006, 11:37 PM   #5
Carnage
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: people insane