E90Post

Extreme Powerhouse

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > 3 Across America Commentary

04-21-2005, 08:50 AM   #1
pharding
Major
Rep
Drives: 23 Audi Q4 e-tron + 14 X3 28i

Thumbs up 3 Across America Commentary

Yesterday I went to the 3 Across America Event here in Chicago. Here are my comments. I am an architect so my profession tends to impact my perception and observations.

Exterior Design One is initially struck by the size of the e90. It is noticeably larger, but slightly, very slightly smaller than my 01 e39 5 er. The overall massing of the car is extremely well thought out. Aesthetically, I like the car a lot with these reservations. The front two thirds of the car are extraordinarily beautiful. The front of the car is a work of art that is more impressive in person than in the photos. The headlight assembly design is probably the best of any BMW. The side crease lines are exceedingly well done. The wheels on the 330 sport package model are one of the best across the entire BMW lineup. From the side the back third looks like an e46 mated to a new design to me. The design is slightly dumbed down for my taste. BMW took a conservative approach to this design. Would it stop me from buying the car if I were to downsize from my 5 er or recommending the car to my son? No. Undoubtedly some will find this conservative approach appealing and less threatening than the rest of the new BMW lineup. Does it look like part of the BMW family? Yes. Overall the car is beautiful and well designed.