BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

BPM

04-23-2009, 03:39 PM   #1
BMW M Power Mexico
First Lieutenant
Mexico
Rep
Drives: E60M5,E821M,F15X5V8

Pad Question: HT-10s Front / Stock Rears

Hi,

I am going out on Saturday and just found out that the HT-10s I got don't fit (just the rears). I am installing the HT-10s on the front only (I have no choice as anything here is mail order and would take at least a week).

This is my first time out on a square R-Comps setup after about 12 track days and a couple of HPDE schools.

Is there any concern with running the stocks in the rear? I have no choice so I will go out like that (except maybe getting new stock rears - worth it?). Anything to look out for? The rears have more than half of their life left.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2009, 05:58 PM   #2
TUNEDM3
Stay Ripping
Rep
Drives: 1M

THe rear will get very light under heavy braking, especially since you are running r comps. It really depends how hard you push it, but be especially careful as the car will not feel very settled.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2009, 08:23 PM   #3
BMW M Power Mexico
First Lieutenant
Mexico
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by TUNEDM3 View Post
THe rear will get very light under heavy braking, especially since you are running r comps. It really depends how hard you push it, but be especially careful as the car will not feel very settled.
Thank you. I will be extra careful since its my firs time on R-Comps. I plan to leave MDM on all the time - no DSC off this time.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2009, 10:46 AM   #4
earlyapex
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 E90 M3

I don't think you'll have a big issue. I found the stock pads faded very quickly, so you'll get fade fairly fast (although it will all be coming from the rear).