BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

07-03-2008, 12:17 AM   #1
TruGambit
Rep
Drives:

How will the 135i handle in the winter?

Looking for some insight here. It's down to an 08 STi or a 135i. But my concern is how well will the 135 handle in the winter w/ snow tires? I also live in the midwest, Omaha region, but currently go to school in Louisville, KY. I plan on having this car for a while and plan to move back into the midwest for graduate school possibly. This is why I'm taking my time to make sure the need of an AWD is ruled out before I set my mind on the 135. I'm also a young driver, so I don't have enough experience under my belt to determine whether or not AWD would be needed.

With the amount of power the 135 has, would it be hard to drive around with the amount of snow the midwest usually gets? I've heard of people giving up E36 M3s for an STi to move up here because of the snow around here.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2008, 07:56 AM   #2
JB135i
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 135i

First thing...people survived many many decades without fancy AWD, Attesa, ABS, DTC, PSM, and any number of other acronyms and baby-sitter systems in their cars, don't forget that.

Next, AWD will provide additional winter ability that you will not have in a rear wheel drive or front wheel drive car. How much more will depend greatly on the car, the tires, and the driver.

The BIGGEST thing you will NEED, NOT WANT, NEED, is a set of either all-season or winter rated tires. Summer tires will get you in trouble, period.

After that you need to practice, in big open parking lots with noone and nothing around to hit should things go awry. Nothing high speed, just enough to get a feel of how to correct when things get sideways. Practice starts and stops as well.