BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

04-17-2008, 04:41 PM   #1
bdardashti
Captain
Canada
Rep
Drives: '12 135i

128i Ownership Costs

I'm really interested in leasing a 128i once the lease rates loosen up a little, though I maybe slightly short on cash to maintain the car. I have a few questions to find out if that's the case.

Please note: I am a first-year university student, and will be getting the car mostly with my own money. I will be getting around $10,000 from parents and grand parents, but I will have to cover all costs (lease/gas/insurance/maintenance). I do have a lot of savings, but clearly don't want to spend it on a car.

1) Other than lease, gas, insurance, what sort of costs am I looking at during the 3-year lease period? I'd be getting the manual transmission. Please also consider the fact that I am in Toronto, and will require winter tire/wheels. If someone could PLEASE give me a run down of all the parts (break pads, rotors, anything the tranny needs, winter/tire, etc.) I would really appreciate it. As for wear and tear (which breaks, tires, clutch pad, etc) all depend on, I am not a typical teenage driver; I drive more like a 30-year old. I normally don't speed, don't break hard, don't floor the car, hard shift, etc. I do "gun" the car SOMETIMES, but generally I take care of the car like it's made of gold, so wear and tear will be like an average 30-year driver and not a teenager :wink:

2) I understand that BMW has a extended maintenance service that they offer for wheels, tires. Is that worth it to buy (I know its standard on a lease, but I'd be getting it within the next 6 months so I wouldn't get that discount).