F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Must-Do Performance Mods for $3k Budget
ARMA SPEED

11-05-2020, 06:51 PM   #1
BAKKI
Private
Rep
Drives: 2017 440i

Must-Do Performance Mods for $3k Budget

Warranty on 440i just expired and looking to switch it up
I'm looking for the most cost-effective way to improve the driving experience & handling characteristics of the car.
Not too worried about aesthetics or maxing performance stats per se -- I just want to build a really fun car within a budget.
(disclaimer: I'm pretty new to this stuff so go easy on me)

Goals:
  1. A bit more power
  2. A bit more sound
  3. Sharper/sportier handling

I currently have:
- MT clutch stop ($10) -- perfect example of a cheap mod that really improved driving experience
Everything else is pretty much stock m-sport.

Upgrades I'm looking at:
Power/sound:
- CTS catted DP ($350) -- already have, got a sweet discount
- BM3 ($600)
- BMS intake ($170)

Handling:
- Light-weight 19s ($900)
- UHP tires, i.e. Firestone Indy 500s ($600) -- replacing my 18" run-shats
- B14 Coilovers ($1050) -- initially thought these were just for looks/stance. Doing some research clearly proved me wrong.
- H&R Sport Springs ($200) -- have heard mixed things about the handling impact for lowering springs in general

If I got everything I've been recommended I'd probably end up spending $5k+, which I sadly can't afford
Is there anything I've missed, and does my list make sense at all? I realize I can also probably knock down some of these prices by buying used / looking for Black Friday deals.

tldr; If you were given a stock 440i, $3000, and the goal of building the car that would put the biggest smile on your face, what would you do?
Appreciate 0
      11-05-2020, 07:22 PM   #2
Bowenpuref3p
First Lieutenant
Rep