BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-03-2019, 10:21 PM   #1
emma2018
Rep
Drives: 2018 X3 M40i

1st Time Living in the Snow

Hey all!

I recently moved in the PNW and haven't decided yet if I'll be staying long term. In the meantime, I would like to take advantage of the snow since it's as short as a 35 minute drive from Seattle. I have a 2018 M40i with 21" wheels on summer tires which is all I needed when I lived in California.

Would I be able to get away driving the summer tires and carrying cables/chains if needed? Or is it necessary I get a new set of wheels with winter tires on?

Go easy on me, I'm a noob!
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2019, 11:57 PM   #2
aswy6
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2016 BMW M3

Quote:
Originally Posted by emma2018 View Post
Hey all!

I recently moved in the PNW and haven't decided yet if I'll be staying long term. In the meantime, I would like to take advantage of the snow since it's as short as a 35 minute drive from Seattle. I have a 2018 M40i with 21" wheels on summer tires which is all I needed when I lived in California.

Would I be able to get away driving the summer tires and carrying cables/chains if needed? Or is it necessary I get a new set of wheels with winter tires on?

All seasons are going to be good enough with 4wd. They do a good job maintaining roads up to ski resorts. Even if it gets really bad just keep a set of chains in the trunk. And i mean not literal chains, there are some options that dont damage wheels. For record, i once drove my M3 up to Crystal Mountains on summer tires, was not the smartest thing i have done in my life but im here writing this message lol
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2019, 12:05 AM   #3
ContactPatch
Major
Rep
Drives: It's Quick!