E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Limp mode when using turbo

09-14-2019, 02:27 AM   #1
Kamz119
Rep
Drives: BMW 335I

Limp mode when using turbo

Hey Guys,

Sorry if I sound silly in advanced. I’m new to cars.

Driving: BME 335i 2009

Problem: Filled up petrol, checked tyre pressure (made front 32 and rear 38), got the car valeted. Drove off and when the car hits the turbo/high revs in sports mode – it goes into limp mode and the check engine light turns on.

When I restart the car, the check engine light turns off and the car sounds and drives normal. As long, as its kept in D mode it drives fine no issues.

When in place the car into M/S (sports) and click the sports button below it (separate question why does it have a sports button and a M/S that I need to shift into sports) and then put my foot down – it drives well until the turbo is meant to come into play then goes into limp mode. Again, restarting the car ‘fixes’ it.

I called the NRMA guys, who plugged the car into the computer thing – strange thing is it found no error codes. So he searched for faults and found the following (I have no clue what the mean)

- Engine DME Motor Electronics
- ABS-DSC Dynamic control stability
- CON Controller
- CTM Convertible Top Module
- FLA High beam assist
- FRM2 Footwell Module 2
- INSTR Instrument Cluster

No garage is open till Monday.

I guess I have 2 main questions

1) What do you think is wrong?
2) Are those a lot of faults considering I got the car serviced 3 months ago

To Note: I had the car enter limp mode 1 month ago, where there was a misfire of cylinder 4. The mechanic swapped out all the coils and switches associated. It drove absolutely fine till today.

Thanks guys, sorry again if I sound stupid.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2019, 07:04 AM   #2
NinetyEight740
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2 - 2013 535i msport

Garage List