F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Cigarette Lighter Socket
proTUNING Freaks

03-20-2019, 08:51 PM   #1
newbimmer2019
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: BMW 3 Series 320i 2015

Cigarette Lighter Socket

Hi! I just bought a cheap ambient light from amazon that plugs in the cigarette port. I just want to know since it doesn't turn off the same time as I turn off the car, will it drain the car's battery? (Although the lights do seem to turn off after 10 mins, I think).

This may have been asked before but I'm pretty new to this and have no knowledge about car electronics whatsoever. I've been reading a lot of posts here though and everyone have been so helpful with each other. I also just got this first BMW a month ago and I'm really happy about it. Thanks for all the help! I'll post pics later!
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2019, 09:03 PM   #2
vooonoo
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Rep
Drives: f30 328

Garage List
2014 f30 328i  [0.00]
think the cigarette turns off ten mins after you turn off the car
Appreciate 1
Billfitz8244.50
      03-20-2019, 09:18 PM   #3
Elvisfan
Major
Rep
Drives: 2018 430ix convertible MGM

Quote:
Originally Posted by vooonoo View Post
think the cigarette turns off ten mins after you turn off the car
I have a dash cam plugged into the lighter. I keep it plugged in. No battery problems.
Appreciate 1
      03-20-2019, 09:30 PM   #4
ooshnoo
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2014 428i and 2018 X5

Garage List
2018 BMW X5  [0.00]
2014 BMW 428i  [10.00]
Take it apart and splice the wires into the footwell lighting. Looks better and problem solved.

03-20-2019, 11:19 PM   #5
newbimmer2019
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by ooshnoo View Post