BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
M2 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in | Oil & Fluids | Servicing | TSB | Recalls > DCT Questions/Concerns

10-27-2017, 01:25 PM   #1
CHITOWN1series
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2018 M2 AW

Garage List
2018 BMW M2  [0.00]
DCT Questions/Concerns

Hi Guys,

This is my first time owning a DCT car and I have some concerns that I am not sure are usual. I just past 1200 miles and have my break-in service scheduled next weekend.

1. When starting from a stop and accelerating very slowly, there is a whining noise, almost sounds like an electric motor is winding. . . is this normal?

2. When going up an incline at a very slow speed, it seems like the clutch doesn't engage sometimes until upwards of 1500 RPM or more and then the car will all of a sudden lurch forward abruptly like the clutch was dumped . . . is this normal?

Any input from other DCT owners if they are experiencing similar things would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Rob
      10-27-2017, 02:39 PM   #2
OGM2
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F87 M2 AW DCT MPS,N180 4Runner

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHITOWN1series View Post
Hi Guys,

This is my first time owning a DCT car and I have some concerns that I am not sure are usual. I just past 1200 miles and have my break-in service scheduled next weekend.

1. When starting from a stop and accelerating very slowly, there is a whining noise, almost sounds like an electric motor is winding. . . is this normal?

2. When going up an incline at a very slow speed, it seems like the clutch doesn't engage sometimes until upwards of 1500 RPM or more and then the car will all of a sudden lurch forward abruptly like the clutch was dumped . . . is this normal?

Any input from other DCT owners if they are experiencing similar things would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Rob