THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Tracking / Autocrossing Leaving DSC On

08-21-2016, 11:20 AM   #1
M3 Esq
Automobilist
United_States
Rep
Drives: E70 X5, 911 GT3

Leaving DSC On

Food for thought. I'm an advanced driver and have always ran MDM in my E92 M3 and DTC in my 335i. I will run sport plus in my M235i. I guess I never saw the point in adding extra risk to wring out those last few seconds in a car I need to drive to work the next day. And I never felt that MDM or DTC intervened so much that it took the fun out of driving the car at speed. To each his own I guess.

http://www.roadandtrack.com/car-cult...ct-your-nanny/
Appreciate 4
      08-21-2016, 12:15 PM   #2
BPC
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 M235i Convertible

Good article. Thanks. The only time I have ever turned off DSC was at the performance driving school in Greer SC - when told to do so for skid pad and other fun stuff. It really made me appreciate how well the traction control works
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 01:12 PM   #3
xantdieselx
Kingslayer
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 23' M3 Base

Sport plus is very good in the M235i. It lets you get away with quite a bit before intervening.

Also you can't run DSC completely off with Sport or Sport plus. DSC off defaults steering, throttle and suspension to comfort. I've read that the rationale behind that is on a track with DSC off the softer throttle response is more desirable.

Previous Cars: 2008' 135i, 2010' 328i, 2013' 328i, 2016' M235i, 2017' X1, 2019' M240i
Current Cars: 2019' X3, 2021' M3 Comp
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 03:20 PM   #4
bryan_G01
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: like i stole it...

dsc off for hooning - donuts, drifiting, etc...

When driving over 120 mph, id like all the help keeping me on the track.
1997 M3 Sedan Auto Cosmo Black Metallic
2018 x3 m40 Auto Grey Metallic