E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > MHD stage 2 stats and requirements

07-15-2016, 06:21 PM   #1
yawn
Lieutenant
No_Country
Rep
Drives: M2 Competition

MHD stage 2 stats and requirements

So after much deliberation, I finally removed my Cobb, and run the MHD flash stage 2. Took it for a spin, and noticed alot more power running through the gears. I have dps and intercooler upgraded but I'm only running stock twins, and fuel pump is stock also.

I am a bit concerned as I am hitting 20psi. There is alot of talk out there as to what is safe - it seems like as the years go by, the "safe limit" for the stockers also increases. I'm just wondering whether 20psi is what the stage 2 MHD is targeting? I have searched but cannot find what kind of boost levels I am supposed to be expecting. Furthermore, I am not too experienced with opening up a flash tune file and searching that way....

Also - I have read that the stock sensor detects up to 21.5psi of boost before you start going into unknown territory - can someone confirm this? I'd rather hope that the ceiling is not at 20psi, cos that could mean I am flying blind.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2016, 08:30 PM   #2
kennejp
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 335i

I've been saying this forever. 20 psi is way to much for any daily driven car especially stock turbos. Somehow everyone has jumped on this MHD cheap flash bandwagon. Seen more local cars blow up from these tunes then all the other tuners combined. It's all risk and reward. There is a reason that jb4 maps and Cobb etc don't target more then 17ish psi. Just know a daily driven cAr at that boost level will only last so long.... My .02c
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2016, 06:44 AM   #3
FCobra94
Rep
n/a
Drives:

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkatron
I'd rather hope that the ceiling is not at 20psi, cos that could mean I am flying blind.