BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
M2 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Coding 6NS (enhanced smartphone integration) still possible?

05-03-2016, 10:08 AM   #1
Dabozo
Major
Rep
Drives: M2 BSM MT

Coding 6NS (enhanced smartphone integration) still possible?

Call me a cheap-skate for wanting to circumvent a $600 CDN option on a $60k vehicle but i like to tinker (and save while im at it )...ive read, I believe in the X5 sub forum that coding this option was possible in the past but now its very difficult if not impossible...can someone shed light on this?

Im new to BMW and therefore Coding so i dont know very much about this topic yet. I know modifications can void that part of your vehicle should something that goes wrong be traced back to your modification but how does coding something like 6NS affect a warranty? And is it/will it be possible?

Last edited by Dabozo; 05-03-2016 at 01:05 PM..
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2016, 11:19 AM   #2
MTHRAR
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: LBB M2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dabozo View Post
Call me a cheap-skate for wanting to circumvent a $600 CDN option on a $60k vehicle but i like to tinker (and save while im at it )...ive read, I believe in the X5 sub forum that coding this option was possible in the past but now its very difficult if not impossible...can someone shed light on this?

Im new to BMW and therefore Coding so i dont know very much about this topic yet. I know modifications can void that part of your vehicle should something that goes wrong be traced back to your modification but how does coding something like 6NS affect a warranty? And is it/will it be possible?
What is this 6NS you refer to? I'm in the US, so I'm not sure if the pricing codes are the same...
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2016, 01:02 PM   #3
Dabozo
Major
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTHRAR View Post