E90Post

The Tire Rack

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Confirmation on repair (VCG?)

04-17-2016, 04:03 PM   #1
whinojosa
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2011 535i (6sp)

Garage List
2011 BMW 535i  [0.00]
Confirmation on repair (VCG?)

Hello,

Needed a quick second opinion on a proposed VCG job I'm gonna diy before I order parts. I purchased car in December of '14 and had PO address a leaking VCG at that point. I was hoping it wasn't it again but I do remember replacing it a few times on the old M54. I've got plenty of experience on my E46 but not much on my E90 yet. I'm noticing a decent amount of oil loss indicated by needing a quart every other month or so (average about 15k/year).

Was gonna throw on an OFHG but cleaned area recently and did not notice any new deposits of oil in that area. I'll prob leave that alone for now unless there's significant overlap in terms of parts removed to the VCG DIY.

I snapped some low quality iPhone pics. Perspective is varied from right side up to upside down. Any thoughts? Is this definitely the VCG?

(Vehicle is a 2006 325i with a manual transmission).
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      04-17-2016, 05:11 PM   #2
BSM n54iS
Brigadier General
Rep
Drives: '11 335is | '16 Macan Turbo

Not sure from pics, but pull out coil packs and check the cylinders/spark plugs. Any oil sitting in them? Do you have any smoke from oil being burned from engine bay?
GruppeM CF Intake | AR Resonated DP | ER CP | Turbosmart RacePort BOV | Cobb FMIC | RB Inlets | RB External Mishi/Turner OCC | Michelin PS4 | BMW Performance Springs/Bilstein B8 + Dinan & M3 bits | BMW Brembo BBK | BMW Performance CF Spoiler | BMW Performance CF Lip | BMW Performance Alcantara | PS Designs GTS Armrest | AG H6-40 | Rear Seat Delete
Appreciate 0
      04-17-2016, 05:26 PM   #3
fun2drive
BMWCCA 149159
United_States
Rep
Drives: 13 128i Vert/ 14 JGC Diesel