THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum Technical Topics Suspension | Chassis | Brakes Ground Control camber plates post mortem

02-26-2016, 08:01 PM   #1
rwalker
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: the wheels off

Ground Control camber plates post mortem

Today I removed the Ground Control (GC) camber plates I've been running for about 16 months.

I was an early adopter of GC plates for the F-series, and as many know these plates weren't ready for prime time when they launched:
  • the spring perch rubbed on the slider center, causing metal-to-metal contact
  • after machining for more clearance, the spring perch still interfered with the slider
  • the urethane bushing in the first designs over-stressed the strut shank stud, leading to failure of the strut
  • the initial run of spherical bearings weren't clearanced correctly, causing a shit ton of noise

GC was very supportive though, and over the course of a year with a fair bit of back and forth they got the product to a "basically working" state.

I never had the issues that others had with bearing retainer failure. It's my sincere belief that these issues resulted from improper installation.

While the plates performed perfectly on the track and at speed/high load conditions, the plates continued to clunk at low speeds over bumpy surfaces. This nagging irritation made them unsuitable for my daily driver, which is why I've been trying other plates (TC Kline, K-MAC) and pestering Vorshlag and Dinan for their solution.

In search of a cause of the noise, I took these pictures and vids.

Notice how much dirt has been trapped in the spring perch. When I disassembled these plates there was dirt trapped between the bearing and the perch, preventing them from fitting together square. Disregard the grind marks inside the perch, those are from early days and the interference issues mentioned above.