proTUNING Freaks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance (Wash/Wax/Detailing/Exterior Restoration & Repairs)

05-21-2015, 04:20 PM   #1
andrewchoidds
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2015 M4

M4 New Owner

Hello everyone

I just purchased a M4, and I am loving it.

I already have rock chips here and there on the front bumper.

I don't know how, but already got a scratch on my rear bumper

I would like to get some tips on the essential things I should do in order to keep my car in tip top shape.

Here are some things I am thinking about.

Clearbra (but how much of the car would you do?)
Touch up paint for the rock chips (would you do it yourself? or is it worth having a pro do it?)
Scratch (the scratch is about 4 inches and its pretty deep, take it to a pro?

I am a big noob, went from an honda accord that I didn't give an F about to an M4 that I adore, so I need some tips and guidance.

Thanks in advance!

BTW, I am in the Inland Empire in California. So if anyone have shops or meets that they recommend please let me know!

Andrew
Appreciate 1
      05-21-2015, 05:33 PM   #2
RocketBoots
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Horse Drawn Carriage

Ahh, the good ole IE...

CA roads, especially freeways, have a lot of rocks flying around waiting to put chips in your car. The best (only?) way to protect against that in a reasonable way is the clear bra. Xpel or SunTek are the only ones worth considering for now. They are both very good; I chose by installer. I found the best installer I'm comfortable trusting, and went with the product he offered (SunTek in my case). I don't even know it's there. Most get the full front (bumper, hood, mirrors, fenders). You may want to do part of the roof, lower rockers, etc.