E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Where to start (with mods that is) on a 07 335i?

11-10-2014, 07:02 PM   #1
ritzzzzzwik
Captain
Rep
Drives: SO M4 MT

Lightbulb Where to start (with mods that is) on a 07 335i?

I recently bought a 07 335i coupe. I am new to the BMW world and I wanted to get some advice from the more seasoned gentlemen/ladies.

I read though various posts, and see that JB4/JB+ are one of the most popular items. So that on my list. That said I am not looking to mod it too heavily. I know its a 335i and not an M3, and I dont want to spend bags full in trying to morph it into something that it isn't.

But I feel, BMW have been a little dishonest with the car, for eg: not having a lsd. I cant see why the limited slip diffs had to be reserved only for the M cars! Its takes a lot more than a lsd to make an M. Coming from vehicles like 350Z and RX8, I definitely feel the LSD missing. For me RWD loses some of its character it if it hasnt got one.

Then there is the heating, I dot think that too much of an issue, becasue it does not ever go past the 240-250 mark, but I can see how that may be an issue on the track. That said it wont be seeing too many track days; maybe one or two a year.

So here are the questions, and you suggestions are welcome.

What should be the first enhancement - JB4, a Limited Slip Diff, or an Oil Cooler?

What other modification you feel are an absolute must (please bear in mind I an not looking for an M3 Killer, I just want the car to be what it should have been coming out of the factory)

Thanks!
(finally posting it in the right section ...I hope)

*******************Update*********************

Thought I'll post here since the thread seems to be losing focus/more current Q's

The following has been done:-

-Walnut Blast at 70K (currently at 102K, might do another next year)
-JB4
-DCI