GetBMWParts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications

10-03-2014, 07:06 PM   #1
BigMo
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: BG on KO G80 Base

Tailpipe finishers question

Ordered my F80 a couple weeks ago and added carbon fiber tailpipe finishers but did not do the MPE. It was listed on my order, but now that I think about it, I'm not sure if those are meant for or will even fit the stock exhaust. Can anyone confirm? What happens when the CA orders PIA's that aren't compatible with the car?
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2014, 07:54 PM   #2
rubber_ducky
Colonel
Rep
Drives: roach coach

I have no personal experience with the MPE or the tips, but from what I've read here, you can't use the stock tips on the MPE. If that's indeed the case, then I would wager that the MPE tips can't be used on the stock exhaust
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2014, 09:27 PM   #3
BigMo
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep

Thanks. I'm assuming the same thing. I just wonder at what point would someone have caught this? Will it be at the port? Then what? Would they just eliminate it from my order? I originally noticed the diffuser on my order was the wrong one (the one for the F30). I immediately caught it and had them fix but what would've happened if I didn't?
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2014, 05:57 AM   #4
rubber_ducky
Colonel
Rep
Drives: roach coach

To my knowledge, these are all dealer-installed accessories. So while the dealer added it to your order, for the sake of rolling up the cost into the car purchase, I'm guessing that the car and the accessories will be shipped to the dealer separately.

I could be wrong and maybe they'll be packed in the trunk or something, but I'm reasonably sure that the dealer will ultimately do the install. Or at least attempt the install in your case.