BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW M5 F90 (2018+) General Forums Wheels | Tires | Suspension | Brakes | Chassis    Brakes for tracking the BMW M5?

03-12-2024, 09:42 AM   #1
bossman2024
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW M5 F90, BMW X5 xDrive 40i

Brakes for tracking the BMW M5?

I have been taking my M5 Competition (F90) on the track which is a ton of fun, and one of the reasons I got it in the first place. Alas I am quickly discovering that the M5 is a pretty heavy car for the track so it burns up brakes REALLY fast. I got bumped from HPDE to solo within one track day at CMP, as while I had only just started on the track in a car I have been riding motorcycles on the track for the last two years and ride intermediate on the bikes (BMW S1000RR of course ). So I picked it up pretty quickly including the lines and trail braking so am posting pretty quick lap times.

But my problem is the brakes. With the stock pads I got 1.5 track days out of them before the rear brakes overheated and were dusted with no pad left. For my first two track days my instructor had me leave traction control on to get used to the car and track, and the way traction control works on the M5 it burns up the rear pads quickly. The front pads still had some meat left on them, but it turns out they had cracked from the heat also so we replaced those.

Now I don't use the same pads on the track and the street as I have a second set of wheels with all seasons pads on them, and I have Carbotech low dust pads for the street so I swap the brakes and the wheels when I hit the track.

We have already flushed the brakes and put Castrol CRF fluid in there. We did that after the first track day.