BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW M5 F90 (2018+) General Forums Engine, Exhaust, Drivetrain, Tuning Modifications    How far can I go before voiding warranty- exhaust?

12-24-2021, 07:12 PM   #1
Cfabrizio
Rep
Drives: 2022 M8 Comp Conv.

How far can I go before voiding warranty- exhaust?

Evening All,

Merry Christmas Eve. Newbie here, just picked up a 2020 M5 Comp. In short, the car is amazing but the exhaust falls a bit short of what it should be. Looking to see how much I can replace of the system to get a louder raspier tone + more cracks and pops without voiding the remaining warranty or needing a tune? Can I remove the resonators, install an x pipe, and everything down stream from there? New to the BMW world so I've been crushing youtube to find the exhaust that sounds best. Like the Akro but that price?? I know....you have to pay to play.

Thanks in advance...cf
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2021, 08:30 PM   #2
pbonsalb
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: 18 F90 M5, 99 E36 M3 Turbo

I doubt BMW would void the warranty for a cat back.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2021, 12:43 AM   #3
TrevorM3
Banned
Rep
Drives: 6.3 AMG

do yourself a favor and remove the resonator, and put straight pipe. they would never notice. cheap, and sounds great, almost stock with a pinch more of everything.. trust me.
Appreciate 1
GranitM5366.00
      12-25-2021, 04:45 AM   #4
m5_mbb7
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: M5CS, M5C, M2C

If it’s a big warranty claim and BMWNA comes out to pay out for something like a blown motor, they will certainly notice things like a missing resonator and potentially could void parts of the drivetrain warranty.

If I were you I’d get a catback exhaust and keep your stock exhaust so you can swap it if you ever want to. Also will keep the cars value if you ever sell it (stock exhaust will sell for more than an aftermarket to a dealership or carmax typically)
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2021, 06:29 AM   #5
Dr. ///M
No_Country
Rep