BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW M5 F90 (2018+) General Forums iDrive, Nav, Stereo, Bluetooth, Electronics    CarPlay Full Screen in the M5

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-20-2021, 08:38 PM   #1
RobRed
Pilot Sport
United_States
24
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: F90 | F15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
CarPlay Full Screen in the M5

Wanted this for 3 years in my 2019 M5 and finally had to dig in myself.

I did multiple searches to find instructions. I was able to piece together what i needed to know through various posts.

There are folks out there providing coding services as usual but I have tools so why not. I have eSYS and BimmerCode so I went simple first with BimmerCode and found success.

I'm not sure what's relevant here so here are the stats on my System:
CarPlay activated by BMW (1yr). Upgraded by BMW to lifetime.
I Level: S15A-21-7-555
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
NBTevo_X20511I
Telephone: TB-007.030.001
Media: TB-007.030.001

BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0 using Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle

1 - Logged into the car with BimmerCode
2 - Headunit [module]
3 - Chose Expert Mode
4 - 3000 HMI [module]
5 - Scrolled for a zillion lines to CARPLAY_FULLSCREEN, tapped > to open
6 - Tapped "aktiv" (was nicht_aktiv)
7 - tap <
8 - tap Back
9 - tap Code

You'll need to reprogram favorites anytime you code the head unit.

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 513
Size:  115.1 KB

Name:  2.jpg
Views: 505
Size:  35.3 KB

Name:  3.jpg
Views: 512
Size:  190.1 KB

Last edited by RobRed; 11-26-2021 at 04:14 PM..
Appreciate 3
SGMM585.50
rjwtkd126.50
Jamesmick126.50
      11-22-2021, 03:38 AM   #2
euro*
.
euro*'s Avatar
Canada
1371
Rep
1,398
Posts

Drives: F90 M5
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (7)

Tried to do the same just now, no luck . I've also tried this maybe a year ago and had the same results as I did today. Still wanted to try it, thinking that maybe BimmerCode changed something with their update, after seeing your thread.

Once I coded it, on the right of the CarPlay screen I just get a white box. Same results on my '19 M5 and my wife's '19 X3
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2021, 09:22 AM   #3
m_fife
Private First Class
m_fife's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2018 M5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kingsland, GA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Tried to do the same just now, no luck . I've also tried this maybe a year ago and had the same results as I did today. Still wanted to try it, thinking that maybe BimmerCode changed something with their update, after seeing your thread.

Once I coded it, on the right of the CarPlay screen I just get a white box. Same results on my '19 M5 and my wife's '19 X3
You have to be on version "NBTevo_X" or above for this to work.
__________________
2018 Alpine White ///M5
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2021, 01:08 PM   #4
euro*
.
euro*'s Avatar
Canada
1371
Rep
1,398
Posts

Drives: F90 M5
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_fife View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Tried to do the same just now, no luck . I've also tried this maybe a year ago and had the same results as I did today. Still wanted to try it, thinking that maybe BimmerCode changed something with their update, after seeing your thread.

Once I coded it, on the right of the CarPlay screen I just get a white box. Same results on my '19 M5 and my wife's '19 X3
You have to be on version "NBTevo_X" or above for this to work.
Both cars are NBTevo_X
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2021, 07:36 PM   #5
Ptoscano911
Private First Class
United_States
14
Rep
188
Posts

Drives: F90 M5
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Long Island

iTrader: (0)

Shoot I was about to do this.
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2021, 08:40 AM   #6
m_fife
Private First Class
m_fife's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2018 M5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kingsland, GA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Both cars are NBTevo_X
What I-Step are you on?
__________________
2018 Alpine White ///M5
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2021, 01:03 PM   #7
Mick0005
New Member
3
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: 2013 M Sport F30 335i xDrive
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Downers Grove, Illinois

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_fife View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Both cars are NBTevo_X
What I-Step are you on?
I recently did this with this method from another forum member and it was a no brainer. Worked fine and highly recommend. Current FX makes it like $27 USD.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-23-2021, 09:12 PM   #8
RobRed
Pilot Sport
United_States
24
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: F90 | F15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
euro* I've seen on other threads when researching this that the white box appeared - I'll try to find the reference.

Do you have other coding setup? Perhaps another setting is causing an issue?

This is a bummer.

ps I added a couple more data points (in my first post regarding my system but I doubt that has any bearing.
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0
Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle

Last edited by RobRed; 11-23-2021 at 09:17 PM..
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2021, 04:03 PM   #9
m_fife
Private First Class
m_fife's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
152
Posts

Drives: 2018 M5
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kingsland, GA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_fife View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Tried to do the same just now, no luck . I've also tried this maybe a year ago and had the same results as I did today. Still wanted to try it, thinking that maybe BimmerCode changed something with their update, after seeing your thread.

Once I coded it, on the right of the CarPlay screen I just get a white box. Same results on my '19 M5 and my wife's '19 X3
You have to be on version "NBTevo_X" or above for this to work.
Both cars are NBTevo_X
Also how is your CarPlay activated? From BMW or aftermarket?
__________________
2018 Alpine White ///M5
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2021, 04:15 PM   #10
RobRed
Pilot Sport
United_States
24
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: F90 | F15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
For reference my CarPlay was activated by BMW (1yr). Upgraded by BMW to lifetime.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2021, 09:59 AM   #11
euro*
.
euro*'s Avatar
Canada
1371
Rep
1,398
Posts

Drives: F90 M5
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRed View Post
euro* I've seen on other threads when researching this that the white box appeared - I'll try to find the reference.

Do you have other coding setup? Perhaps another setting is causing an issue?

This is a bummer.

ps I added a couple more data points (in my first post regarding my system but I doubt that has any bearing.
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0
Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle
I ended up getting M5 coded by a member here from the forum, and he did the full screen for me with some patch file, and remote coding over esys

About your other questions, CarPlay in both cars came from factory, lifetime.

M5 had other coding, X3 didn't have any coding before.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2021, 08:24 PM   #12
myounz
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: M5 Competition
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Just wanted to chime in and say this worked like a charm on my 2019. The previous owner did the trick to get it full screen but BMW flashed my iDrive when taking care of a recall. This trick worked on brought my back to full screen from split screen. Thanks RobRed !
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2021, 01:41 AM   #13
Wojti_
Enlisted Member
Wojti_'s Avatar
8
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: BMW F11, G30
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Carplay full screen is possible from Soft N, now the newest is Y
__________________
coding SLI for F, G
evo id5,6 - maps lifetime code, carplay full screen activation, BMW apps, video in motion
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2021, 01:08 AM   #14
RobRed
Pilot Sport
United_States
24
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: F90 | F15
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by myounz View Post
Just wanted to chime in and say this worked like a charm on my 2019. The previous owner did the trick to get it full screen but BMW flashed my iDrive when taking care of a recall. This trick worked on brought my back to full screen from split screen. Thanks RobRed !
Awesome glad I could inspire you :-)
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2021, 02:13 PM   #15
Camarejh
Private First Class
Camarejh's Avatar
134
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW M3
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRed View Post
euro* I've seen on other threads when researching this that the white box appeared - I'll try to find the reference.

Do you have other coding setup? Perhaps another setting is causing an issue?

This is a bummer.

ps I added a couple more data points (in my first post regarding my system but I doubt that has any bearing.
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0
Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle
I ended up getting M5 coded by a member here from the forum, and he did the full screen for me with some patch file, and remote coding over esys

About your other questions, CarPlay in both cars came from factory, lifetime.

M5 had other coding, X3 didn't have any coding before.
Can you hook me up with this guy who did the remote coding? I dont even have apple carplay in my 18. I was going to activate it through connected drive but im scared ill get the 3/4 screen and wouldnt waste 300 bucks on that
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2021, 02:17 PM   #16
euro*
.
euro*'s Avatar
Canada
1371
Rep
1,398
Posts

Drives: F90 M5
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarejh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRed View Post
euro* I've seen on other threads when researching this that the white box appeared - I'll try to find the reference.

Do you have other coding setup? Perhaps another setting is causing an issue?

This is a bummer.

ps I added a couple more data points (in my first post regarding my system but I doubt that has any bearing.
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0
Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle
I ended up getting M5 coded by a member here from the forum, and he did the full screen for me with some patch file, and remote coding over esys

About your other questions, CarPlay in both cars came from factory, lifetime.

M5 had other coding, X3 didn't have any coding before.
Can you hook me up with this guy who did the remote coding? I dont even have apple carplay in my 18. I was going to activate it through connected drive but im scared ill get the 3/4 screen and wouldnt waste 300 bucks on that
Vick, His whatsup: +60 12-396 9654
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2021, 02:20 PM   #17
Camarejh
Private First Class
Camarejh's Avatar
134
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW M3
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarejh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRed View Post
euro* I've seen on other threads when researching this that the white box appeared - I'll try to find the reference.

Do you have other coding setup? Perhaps another setting is causing an issue?

This is a bummer.

ps I added a couple more data points (in my first post regarding my system but I doubt that has any bearing.
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0
Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle
I ended up getting M5 coded by a member here from the forum, and he did the full screen for me with some patch file, and remote coding over esys

About your other questions, CarPlay in both cars came from factory, lifetime.

M5 had other coding, X3 didn't have any coding before.
Can you hook me up with this guy who did the remote coding? I dont even have apple carplay in my 18. I was going to activate it through connected drive but im scared ill get the 3/4 screen and wouldnt waste 300 bucks on that
Vick, His whatsup: +60 12-396 9654
For some reason its not working on whatsapp
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2021, 02:22 PM   #18
euro*
.
euro*'s Avatar
Canada
1371
Rep
1,398
Posts

Drives: F90 M5
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarejh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarejh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRed View Post
euro* I've seen on other threads when researching this that the white box appeared - I'll try to find the reference.

Do you have other coding setup? Perhaps another setting is causing an issue?

This is a bummer.

ps I added a couple more data points (in my first post regarding my system but I doubt that has any bearing.
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0
Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle
I ended up getting M5 coded by a member here from the forum, and he did the full screen for me with some patch file, and remote coding over esys

About your other questions, CarPlay in both cars came from factory, lifetime.

M5 had other coding, X3 didn't have any coding before.
Can you hook me up with this guy who did the remote coding? I dont even have apple carplay in my 18. I was going to activate it through connected drive but im scared ill get the 3/4 screen and wouldnt waste 300 bucks on that
Vick, His whatsup: +60 12-396 9654
For some reason its not working on whatsapp
Not sure. Make sure you enter the number correctly to your contacts. That number is 100% correct and works
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2021, 02:25 PM   #19
Camarejh
Private First Class
Camarejh's Avatar
134
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW M3
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarejh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camarejh View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro* View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobRed View Post
euro* I've seen on other threads when researching this that the white box appeared - I'll try to find the reference.

Do you have other coding setup? Perhaps another setting is causing an issue?

This is a bummer.

ps I added a couple more data points (in my first post regarding my system but I doubt that has any bearing.
111174.3.210
North American EVO 2018-2
BimmerCode Full Version: 4.1 (12440) - 13.1.0
Vgate iCar Pro Bluetooth 4.0 dongle
I ended up getting M5 coded by a member here from the forum, and he did the full screen for me with some patch file, and remote coding over esys

About your other questions, CarPlay in both cars came from factory, lifetime.

M5 had other coding, X3 didn't have any coding before.
Can you hook me up with this guy who did the remote coding? I dont even have apple carplay in my 18. I was going to activate it through connected drive but im scared ill get the 3/4 screen and wouldnt waste 300 bucks on that
Vick, His whatsup: +60 12-396 9654
For some reason its not working on whatsapp
Not sure. Make sure you enter the number correctly to your contacts. That number is 100% correct and works
Nvm i got it to work thank you!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.




m5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST